Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Catalog Record Details

Category:
Diversity Kiosk

Title:
Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Author:
Wu, Frank H.

Abstract:
Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

Publisher:
New York : BasicBooks

Publication Year:
2003

Subject:
Asian Americans -- Race identity
Asian Americans -- Social conditions
Asian Americans -- Civil rights

Diversity Kiosk


Connect with PSC follow PSC on Twitter Like PSC on Facebook